World Citizen Award

World Citizen Award Dinner

The World Affairs Council of Charlotte annually recognizes a member of our community who has made a significant impact on our region and enhanced its global standing. Each year, a capacity audience gathers to celebrate and recognize the achievements of the award recipients.

Past recipients of the World Citizen Award are:

1990 Rev. Billy Graham
1991 William Lee
1992 Hugh McColl, Jr.
1993 Dr. LeRoy Walker
1994 Dean Rusk
1995 Elizabeth Dole
1996 William Friday
1997 John Belk
1998 Herman Blumenthal
1999 Habitat for Humanity, Charlotte
2000 Charlie Rose
2001 Loonis McGlohon
2002 General H. Hugh Shelter (Ret.)
2003 Irwin Belk
2004 Jerry Richardson
2005 Crandall and Erskine Bowles
2006 Dr. Graham Allison
2007 Francis Robicsek, M.D.
2009 Carolinas Freedom Foundation
2010 Jim Rogers
2011 Marshall Larsen
2012 Sandra and Leon Levine
2013 Margaret and Smoky Bissell
2014 Michael Tarwater
2015 Tim Belk
2016 Phil Dubois
2004 Tony Zeiss


This year, we honor Pat Rodgers, president and CEO of Rodgers Builders on Tuesday, May 8th at the Hilton Charlotte Center City (6:00 – 9:00 p.m.) Additional details are forthcoming.

SOLD OUT: 2017 World Citizen Award Dinner (May 2, 2017)

The World Affairs Council of Charlotte will honor Dr. Tony Zeiss, President of Central Piedmont Community College (1992-2016) as the 2017 World Citizen Award recipient. Since 1990, the WACC has annually presented the World Citizen Award to prominent citizens (and organizations) who have enhanced our community's standing in the world their accomplishments of international significance and contributions to the city, this region and our international community.